Dieruff High School Announces Danny Khalouf Scholarship Recipients

Dieruff High School Announces Danny Khalouf Scholarship Recipients
Posted on 03/28/2018

On March 18, Dieruff High School awarded academic scholarships to eight members of the Class of 2018 in memory of former DHS student Danny Khalouf.

Students were honored earlier this month at a banquet held at The Palace Center. The students listed below are the 2018 recipients who plan to attend a variety of prestigious colleges and universities this fall after graduation.

  •        Ryan Antar, Lehigh University
  •          George Awad, University of Maryland
  •         Sinar Bitar, Princeton University
  •         Yanar Bitar, Princeton University
  •         Donna Hanna, Moravian College
  •         Christina Mitry, Temple University
  •         Ilianna Perez, Lehigh University
  •         Claudia Rabih, Princeton University

Recipients of this scholarship apply and must be seniors who have been accepted to a college or university, be in the top 20% of their class with a minimum GPA of 3.50, and have demonstrated financial need, as evidenced by their application for financial aid.

The selection process is conducted by the Danny Khalouf Memorial Scholarship Committee. Danny Khalouf was a DHS graduate who was working as an Assistant DA (District Attorney) in Lehigh County at the time of his tragic death. Khalouf and 3 others were killed in a drunk driving accident in 2004. The Khalouf family wanted to honor their son’s memory by providing an opportunity for future Huskies who are a part of the Syrian-American community in Allentown and wish to attend college.  

Speakers at the awards ceremony included Joseph N. Hanna (Sheriff, Lehigh County), Jim Martin (District Attorney, Lehigh County), Michael Larcson (Senior Deputy Public Defender, Bucks County), David Mussel (Chief Deputy District Attorney, Lehigh County) and keynote speaker Frank Nacci (President and CEO of Nacci Printing, DHS Class of 1965).

Scholarship Winners